The Most Exciting Thing You Will Ever Do Is To Like Yourself Better. 3 Simple Steps

Linda Prejean
3 min readSep 16, 2024
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Here is why my personal growth has accelerated in less than 30 days. It’s been huge.

In the words of Voltaire, “The most important decision you make is to be in a good mood.”

I am usually in a good mood, this couldn’t possibly apply to me. However, I’ve become more aware when my inner dialog leads to internal conflict. I can be merrily going about my day when I experience an annoying interaction where I need to fix or change someone.

Now I see negative self-talk differently. It’s subtle, under the scenes of consciousness. At times I catch myself thinking, “I want to like myself better.”

We hear of the importance of nurturing self-love. But I didn’t think that applied to me either. I do a lot of self-nurturing.

Now this business of liking myself has become a priority. That equates to accepting the parts that make me uncomfortable.

Harvard Health reports that through self-acceptance you can transcend old patterns of thought that keep you feeling stuck. It states: “Self-acceptance is defined as an individual’s ‘acceptance of all of his/her attributes, positive or negative.’ It includes body acceptance, self-protection from negative criticism, and believing in one’s capacities.”

--

--